About Us

Who We Are

About Us


Read more about
Implementing Agreements 
on the International Energy Agency website.


Get Newsletters by Email

IEA Multilateral Technology Initiatives, known as Implementing Agreements.

The Implementing Agreement for co-operation on Hybrid and Electric Vehicle Technologies and Programmes (IA-HEV) enables member parties to discuss their respective needs, share key information, and learn from an ever-growing pool of experience from the development and deployment of hybrid and electric vehicles.

IA-HEV was formed in 1993 to produce and disseminate balanced, objective information about advanced electric, hybrid, and fuel cell vehicles. IA-HEV is an international membership group collaborating under the International Energy Agency (IEA) framework. Implementing Agreements are at the core of the IEA International Technology Co-operation Programme coordinated by the IEA Committee on Energy Research and Technology (CERT).

An Implementing Agreement is a system of standard rules and regulations to encourage multinational, collaborative efforts to meet energy challenges. This allows interested IEA member and non-member governments and other organizations to pool resources for research, development, and deployment of particular technologies. An Implementing Agreement runs for a fixed time period, usually in five-year phases. IA-HEV has completed three phases and is currently in Phase 4 which runs from 2009−2015.


IA-HEV offers two types of membership: Contracting Parties and Sponsors. Members designate a representative to serve on the Executive Committee that provides overall direction, approves the budget, and formulates policy and strategy. IA-HEV primary work is conducted through Tasks.

The 18 IA-HEV  country members are: Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.