Germany Joins IA-HEV and Participates in Multiple Tasks

March 6, 2012 12:35 PM
"Plus-Energy House with Electromobility" competition winner, ILEK.
© Institute for Lightweight Structures and Conceptual Design.

IA-HEV welcomed Germany as a new member in the summer of 2011. The German Federal Government considers electric mobility a significant factor to achieve national goals for a climate-friendly energy and transport policy. Electric mobility also offers German industry the opportunity to meet the global demand for innovative products that contribute to building sustainable societies. IA-HEV membership offers Germany varied opportunities for research and information exchange that will help the country to achieve its national goals for electric vehicles and their related infrastructure.

German representatives will actively participate in IA-HEV international and joint research, demonstrations, and comparative evaluations through Task memberships. This is in keeping with one of the objectives of the German Federal Government Programme on Electric Mobility of 2011, that the active participation of government, academia, and industry together will encourage discussion about electric mobility with other economic sectors.

The Federal Republic of Germany is represented on the IA-HEV Executive Committee by delegates from Projektträger Jülich and DLR (German Aerospace Center, Institute of Vehicle Concepts) on behalf of the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology. Projektträger Jülich implements research and innovation funding programmes on behalf of public authorities. DLR conducts research and development work in aeronautics, space, energy, transport and security. Matthias Laske was appointed as the delegate to the IA-HEV Executive Committee (ExCo), and Stephan Schmid as the alternate ExCo delegate and Germany’s representative for Task 1, Information Exchange.

Industry, universities, and research facilities as well as other interested organizations may be assigned to IA-HEV Tasks as German national experts. German companies are now contributing to the activities of IA-HEV jointly with government delegates.

Task Participation
Company representatives have been nominated as national experts to represent Germany for Task 10, Electrochemical Systems (Gösta Pfundtner, Daimler); Task 17, System Integration for Electric Vehicles (Kerstin Mayr, Bosch; and Reiner Hoeger, Continental); and Task 18, EV Ecosystems, (Karl-Josef Kuhn, Siemens). Also, from the Federal research sector, Bernd Propfe from the DLR Institute of Vehicle Concepts and David Dallinger from Fraunhofer ISI are actively participating in Task 15, Plug-in Hybrid Vehicles.

Additionally, Gereon Meyer, from the trade association VDI/VDE-IT, is participating in Task 1,Information Exchange, along with Stephan Schmid. VDI/VDE-IT hosts the office of the eNOVA Strategy Board on Electric Mobility, an alliance of German companies from the vehicle manufacturing, semiconductor, and electrical engineering sectors. Originally founded as an innovation partnership with the Federal Ministry for Education and Research in Germany, eNOVA now serves in various advisory roles for the Federal Government and for the National Platform on Electric Mobility. Its mission is to define research and development (R&D) needs, edit roadmaps, make recommendations for funding programs, implement R&D projects, and seek international dialogue.

With a focus on pre-competitive research, the involved companies are particularly interested in electric powertrain systems, energy storage, lightweight materials, e/e (electronic/electric) architecture, and other components and solutions for electric vehicles and their connection to the power grid. More information is available on the eNOVA website.

Contributed by Stephan Schmid (Germany), Delegate for Task 1, Information Exchange