IA-HEV has completed three five-year phases since 1993 and is currently in Phase 4. Each phase has its own unique emphasis and objectives to further the IA-HEV vision.


The electric drive will be used as the predominant transportation mode in a sustainable transport system that is preferably powered by renewable energy and does not produce harmful emissions.


  • To supply objective information to governmental policy makers and decision makers at the national level, as well as to industry decision makers from utilities, automotive, and component suppliers.
  • To facilitate international collaboration in pre-competitive research and demonstration projects, and to function as a promoter for Research, Development, Demonstration, and Deployment (RDD&D) involving shared resources from multiple countries.
  • To reduce energy consumption, harmful emissions, and improve local and global air quality.

Strategic Objectives for Phase 4 (2009−2015)

  • Produce objective information for policy and decision makers on hybrid and electric vehicle technology, projects, and programmes and their effects on energy efficiency
    and the environment.
    • This is accomplished through topic-specific Task groups, which produce general and market studies, assessments, demonstrations, comparative evaluation of various options for applying these technologies, technology evaluations, and more.
  • Disseminate information produced to the International Energy Agency (IEA) community, national governments, industries, and to other interested organizations.
  • Collaborate on pre-competitive research projects and related topics and investigate the need for further research in promising areas.
  • Collaborate with other transportation-related IEA Implementing Agreements and collaborate with specific groups or committees interested in transportation, vehicles, and fuels.
  • Provide a platform for reliable information on hybrid and electric vehicles.


Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America

Phase 4 (2009–2015) Tasks