IA-HEV Vision, Mission, and Objectives for Phase 4

Phase 5  (2015−2020)

About Us


Get Newsletters by Email




The Technology Collaboration Programme on Hybrid and Electric Vehicles (HEV TCP) was previously known as the Implementing Agreement for co-operation on Hybrid and Electric Vehicle Technologies and Programmes (IA-HEV). The labelling changed in 2016.


In November 2014, the IEA Committee on Energy Research and Technology (CERT) approved the fifth phase of operation for HEV TCP, which is scheduled to run from 1 March 2015 until 29 February 2020.


The HEV TCP ExCo considers policy/decision makers in governmental bodies at national, regional and city levels, in the automotive industry, its component suppliers and in utilities as the target audience for its work. These include the HEV TCP Contracting Parties, which are representing national governments. The HEV TCP mission is to supply this target audience with objective information to support decision making, to function as a facilitator for international collaboration in pre-competitive research and demonstration projects, to foster international exchange of information and experiences, and sometimes to function as a promoter for Research, Development, Demonstration and Deployment (RDD&D) projects and programmes.

Strategic Objectives for Phase 5 (2015−2020)

  • To produce and disseminate objective information - for policy and decision makers - on hybrid and electric vehicle technology, projects and programmes, and their effects on energy efficiency and the environment. This is done by means of general studies, assessments, demonstrations, comparative evaluations of various options of application, market studies, technology evaluations, highlighting industrial opportunities, and so forth.
  • To be a platform for reliable information on hybrid and electric vehicles.
  • To collaborate on pre-competitive research projects and related topics and to investigate the need for further research in promising areas.
  • To collaborate with other transportation related IEA Technology Collaboration Programmes, and to collaborate with specific groups or committees with an interest in transportation, vehicles and fuels.


Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America, Norway

Phase 4 (2009–2015) Tasks